
Reviews
Part of Small Business Content Marketing: The Version That Survives Contact With Reality
5 Things to Check Before Hiring Small Business Content Marketing Agencies
Small business content marketing agencies compares Siege Media and Grow and Convert through current service pages, buyer-fit tests, pilot scope, ownership, and cost.
What to take away
- Siege Media publishes an $8,000 monthly content minimum, a 12-month term and a 30-day out clause. Grow and Convert publishes no price and no minimum term, so ask for a written rate card before you compare them.
- Run five checks before any pitchtotal cost and term, the named team, the research method, rights and exit, and one measured pilot.
- Siege Media fits a funded company that wants strategy, design, SEO and digital PR inside one retainer.
- Grow and Convert fits a business with a live lead funnel and in-house experts who can sit for interviews.
- Treat every performance figure on either site as a claim until you see the evidence behind it.
Five checks to run first
Send both agencies the same brief. Cover audience, offer, objectives, constraints, the existing content library, budget, timeline and data limits. Score the replies on five points.
- Total cost and minimum term.Ask for the retainer, the per-piece rate, the minimum term and the notice period in writing. Small business content marketing retainers typically run $3,000 to $12,000 a month. One researched article typically costs $500 to $1,500, depending on interviews, length and review rounds.
- The named team.Ask which people write, edit and publish, and how much goes to freelancers. Ask how AI tools are disclosed and reviewed before publication. Request two references you can call.
- Research method and sources.Ask how topics are chosen and which data proves demand. Google Search Console and Google Analytics 4 are free. Paid suites such as Semrush and Ahrefs typically cost $100 to $500 per seat each month.
- Rights, access and exit.Confirm who owns drafts, data and final files. Ask who keeps the CMS and analytics logins after the term ends. Put confidentiality and termination terms in the same document.
- A measured pilot.Bound one piece of work with fixed sources, review rounds, distribution and reporting. Ask how success is defined and what is not guaranteed.
Agencies that pitch journalists and prospects by email should know that commercial messages to Canadian recipients fall under Canada's Anti-Spam Legislation. Consent, sender identification and a working unsubscribe are required. The official CASL page sets out the rules. Ask which agency sends the outreach and from which domain.
Siege Media: published price, scope and term
Siege Media sells content marketing as an integrated service. Its service page covers strategy, writing, design, development, user experience, SEO, generative search, digital PR and analytics.
The same page states an $8,000 monthly content marketing minimum, a 12-month contract and a 30-day out clause. Those figures decide who can enter the conversation at all.
Siege Media Contract Terms
- $8,000monthly content-marketing minimum
- 12 monthscontract length
- 30 daysout clause notice
Smaller firms should confirm the numbers on a dated proposal. Ask what sits outside the retainer and how many review rounds are included. The working habits that keep a retainer honest are set out in our notes on small business content marketing best practices.
Grow and Convert: method, and the missing numbers
Grow and Convert describes its SEO and generative engine optimization work as research, expert interviews, keyword strategy, writing, optimization and publishing, plus link building and analytics. Conversion reporting is part of the offer.
The firm says it favors buying-intent topics and leads over traffic, and that it works with B2B and B2C clients through product and sales interviews.
Its published service page states no price, no minimum term and no named team. Ask for all three in writing, plus the contract structure. Ask which writers handle your account and how much client interview time each piece needs.
Owners raise the same terms in our list of common small business content marketing questions, which is worth reading before you sign.
How the two compare, by criterion
Siege Media (published)
- Minimum spend
- $8,000 a month
- Contract term
- 12 months, 30-day out clause
- Scope
- Strategy, writing, design, development, UX, SEO, generative search, digital PR, analytics
- Method
- Integrated production and digital PR
- Team
- Not named on the service page
- Results
- Vendor statements
Grow and Convert (published)
- Minimum spend
- Not stated
- Contract term
- Not stated
- Scope
- Research, expert interviews, keyword strategy, writing, optimization, publishing, link building, analytics, conversion reporting
- Method
- Expert interviews, buying-intent topics, lead reporting
- Team
- Not named on the service page
- Results
- Vendor statements
Verify before signing
- Minimum spend
- Rate card and floor
- Contract term
- Term and notice
- Scope
- Deliverables and exclusions
- Method
- Source policy and reviewer names
- Team
- Named writer and named editor
- Results
- Evidence behind each figure
For any performance claim, the FTC advertising substantiation policy requires a reasonable basis before an objective claim goes out. Apply that test to the numbers on both sites.
For reviews and ranking lists, the FTC guidance on soliciting and paying for reviews flags selective requests, conditioned incentives and hidden relationships.
Example: a four-week paid pilot
Take one question your buyers actually ask. The agency researches it, interviews one internal expert, drafts 1,200 words and revises once. You supply the brief and one reviewer.
Fix the fee, the publish date, the distribution list and the exit clause before work starts. Judge the pilot on whether the draft shows real sourcing and a structure you can reuse.
Set expectations against realistic small business content marketing benchmarks rather than agency headline numbers.







